The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Twenty-three finalists revealed for the 2020 FPA Awards

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) has revealed the shortlist for the seven categories of the 2020 FPA Awards.

Now in its eighth year, the FPA Awards recognises exceptional financial planners, paraplanners, university students and FPA Professional Practices from across Australia. The Awards also celebrate the individuals and businesses who go above and beyond to deliver outstanding results for clients.

FPA CEO Dante De Gori CFP® said 2020 has unfolded as one of our most challenging years in decades. FPA members are playing a vital role in supporting their clients and the broader community as many Australians find themselves in a financial situation that they have never before experienced.

“The 23 finalists have been chosen because they have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to professional standards and made a positive difference to the lives of clients and their local community,” said Mr De Gori.

This year, the FPA introduced a new FPA Advice Innovation Award to recognise members who have automated their advice process or used technology in new ways to engage with clients and/or deliver advice.

“It has been incredible to see many of our members redesigning their businesses to improve client engagement and improve efficiency when it comes to developing client strategies and statements of advice during a disruptive and challenging time.”

“The judges have been very impressed by the high calibre of award entries this year and were pleased to receive an increase in the number of applications across all of the categories,” he said.

Award winners will be announced in late November 2020.

The finalists for each award are as follows:

FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award
Zacary Leeson CFP® – HPH Solutions (WA)
James McFall CFP® – Yield Financial Planning (VIC)
Stevie-Jade Turner CFP® – Tribeca Financial (VIC)

FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award
Alman Partners (QLD)
Collins SBA (TAS)
HPH Solutions (WA)
Muirfield Financial Services (VIC)

FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award
Felicity Cooper AFP® – Cooper Wealth Management (QLD)
Nat Daley AFP® – Hard Line Wealth (NSW)
Craig Phillips AFP® – Phillips Wealth Partners (ACT)

FPA Advice Innovation Award
Cameron Teague CFP® – CT Wealth Advisory (QLD)
Corey Wastle CFP® – Verse Wealth (VIC)
James Wortley CFP® – Enlightened Financial Solutions (QLD)

FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award
Chris O’Shea – Tupicoffs (QLD)
Daniel Ryan – Cooper Wealth Management (QLD)
Emma Zwaan – Capital Partners Private Wealth Advisers (WA)

FPA University Student of the Year Award
Miles Kitts – Charles Sturt University (SA)
Crystal Leckonby – Griffith University (QLD)
Virginia Stenner – CQ University (QLD)
Anthony White – TAFE NSW (NSW)

FPA Community Service Award supported by the Future2 Foundation
Brian Dooley CFP® – Shadforth Financial Group (QLD)
Tracey Edwards CFP® – First Advice Solutions (SA)
Shane Hayes – Family Aged Care Advocates (NSW)


For more information about the FPA Awards visit