The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Last call for planners to submit for Best Practice Awards

The FPA will close entries for its Best Practice Awards and the FPA Honorary Awards on 21 August.

The Best Practice Awards recognise some of Australia’s top financial planners who deliver qualified and trusted financial advice using the highest standard of ethics, practice standards and professional conduct.

Mark Rantall, CEO of the FPA, is calling on members to put forward financial planners who have lived by the high standards of the FPA Code of Practice while providing quality advice to clients:

“The Best Practice Awards recognize the positive impact that planners make in their client lives and also in advancing the profession of financial planning. It is through the good work of these planners and the success stories they share with us that the profession can advance.

“We have received and acknowledged many inspiring entries throughout the years and we encourage planners who haven’t yet done so to send submissions before next week. Whether it is your own submission or that of a peer or colleague, we encourage all members to acknowledge the outstanding work being done by many financial planners out there. It has been a tough year for the profession, the FPA community would like to take this opportunity to highlight those who continue to raise standards for financial planning in Australia,” said Rantall.

Practitioner members of the FPA are eligible to enter the awards, and can submit an application to three categories:

  1. FPA Certified Financial Planner® Professional Best Practice Award
  2. FPA Financial Planner AFP® Best Practice Award
  3. Future2 Community Service Best Practice Award

State winners and runners-up will be chosen in each award category. A national winner will then be selected in each category from the pool of state winners.
Nominations are also still open for the 2013 FPA Honorary Awards for Distinguished Service and Fellows. These awards honour the work of FPA members who have gone above and beyond the call of duty through:

  • working with their local community and charitable organisations
  • mentoring young planners and those new to the profession
  • working with their local FPA Chapter and FPA committees
  • selfless contribution to the profession

The deadline for submissions for all awards is 21st August and winners will be announced and profiled in September in the lead up to the inaugural 2013 FPA Professionals Congress on 16-17 October where they will be presented with their awards.

National winners receive free entry to the Professionals Congress and $5,000 towards a client event or professional development opportunity. National and state winners of the FPA CFP® Professional Best Practice Award will also win a package of PortfolioConstruction Forum CPD Programs

For more information and details on how to enter the awards, click here.