The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Future2 welcomes three new Board Directors

The Future2 Foundation is pleased to announce three new appointments to its Board of Directors: Ms Julie Berry CFP®, Mr Hugh Humphrey, and Ms Olivia Maragna CFP®.

Future2 is the foundation of the financial planning profession in Australia. Through its annual Future2 Make the Difference! Grants program, Future2 supports young Australians experiencing social, financial or physical hardship.

More than $1 million has been contributed by Future2 to benefit disadvantaged young people across Australia since its inception 11 years ago. The milestone was achieved by awarding $181,000 in new Future2 grants to 19 not-for-profit organisations in 2018, including special drought relief grants for struggling farming communities.

Future2 Chair, Petra Churcher AFP® says, “We have an ambitious target to increase our distribution in grants to $200,000 in 2019. We would like to see this annual amount double to $400,000 per annum. It is an ambitious target, and the extensive experience that Ms Berry, Mr Humphrey and Ms Maragna bring across a wide range of areas will be an absolute asset to the Future2 Board of Directors and our collective drive to make a positive impact to families and young people facing difficult circumstances.”

Each of the new directors brings a wealth of experience:

Ms Julie Berry CFP® has been practicing as a financial planner for almost 30 years.  She is a director of the Tax Practitioners Board (TPB) and Chair of Firm for 360 Financial Advantage. She is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She has served as both the Chair and board member of the FPA and as Chair and Board member of the Institute of Financial Advisers in New Zealand. She is also a life member of the FPA and a recipient of the Money Management Lifetime Achievement Award.

Mr Hugh Humphrey is a senior executive in the financial services industry, with an interesting and diverse background in management consulting and telecommunications. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Sydney, an MBA from Henley Business School at the University of Reading in the UK, and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr Humphrey has been on the Board of The Infants’ Home for almost five years.

Ms Olivia Maragna CFP® is Chief Executive of Aspire Retire. She features on the 2019 Barron’s Top 50 Financial Advisers honour roll and presented a Hall of Fame Award for Business Achievement. She is a well-recognised finance commentator and advocate for the financial planning profession. She is the finance columnist for several national newspapers and has a regular finance segment on ABC radio.

Mr Peter Bobbin, Mr Patrick Canion CFP®, FPA CEO Mr Dante De Gori CFP®, Ms Anne Graham CFP®, Ms Alison Henderson CFP®, Mr Joseph Hoe CFP® and Dr Michael Neary CSC continue to serve on the Future2 Board under the ongoing leadership of Ms Petra Churcher AFP® as Chair.

For more information visit