The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Future2 appoints new Director to the Board

The Future2 Foundation is pleased to welcome Mr Giles Gunesekera to its Board of Directors.
Mr Giles Gunesekera is Founder and CEO of Global Impact Initiative and is a member of the global advisory board of the United Nations (Climate & Health and Sustainable Finance) as well as a wide range of not-for-profit boards across human rights, arts, sports and disabilities.

Future2 is the Foundation of the Financial Planning Association in Australia. Through its annual Future2 Make the Difference! grants program, Future2 supports young Australians who are going through social, financial or physical hardship.

Since 2007, Future2 has contributed $1,195,066 to benefit young people across Australia. In 2019, Future2 met an ambitious target to increase its grant distribution when it awarded $191,066 to 20 not-for-profit organisations – an increase of more than 5% over the previous year.

Future2 Chair, Ms Petra Churcher, says:

“Our vision at Future2 is to become the chosen foundation for all financial planners and their respective communities. We are committed to increasing our fundraising so that we can double our annual grant amount from nearly $200,000 to $400,000 per annum to provide more support to young Australians across the country.

“The appointment of Mr Gunesekera will support our vision to continue to raise the profile of the Future2 Foundation within the financial planning community and beyond”.

Several Directors recently concluded their terms on the Board. Future2 gratefully acknowledges the contributions of Mr Patrick Canion CFP®, Ms Anne Graham CFP®, Mr Joseph Hoe and Mr Michael Neary CSC with thanks for their commitment and service to the Foundation.

Mr Peter Bobbin, FPA CEO Mr Dante De Gori CFP®, Ms Alison Henderson CFP®, Mr Hugh Humphrey and Ms Olivia Maragna CFP® continue to serve on the Future2 Board under the leadership of Ms Petra Churcher as Chair and Ms Julie Berry CFP® as Deputy Chair.