The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Financial Planners submit to Best Practice

The Financial Planning Association (FPA) has today opened submissions to the prestigious Best Practice Awards and the FPA Honorary Awards 2012.

The FPA Best Practice Awards recognise professional financial planners who provide superior outcomes for clients in line with the FPA Code of Professional Practice. The FPA Code holds members to high standards of Ethics, Practice Standards and Professional Conduct, in the best interest of clients. FPA members are invited to submit to three categories:

  • 1. FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER(R) Professional Best Practice Award
  • 2. FPA Financial Planner AFP(R) Best Practice Award
  • 3. Future2 Community Service Best Practice Award

State / Territory Winners and Runners-Up will be recognised in each award category from NSW, ACT, QLD, VIC, TAS, SA, NT and WA. A National Winner will then be selected in each category from the pool of State Winners.

The FPA Best Practice Award is a symbol to Australians looking for advice from someone they can trust.

Pippa Elliot CFP(R), winner of the CFP(R) Professional Best Practice Award 2011 described her experience:

“…I was delighted to be recognised for the work that I submitted, however I’ve also been challenged with new opportunities to mentor others and had the opportunity to participate in regulatory consultations that have opened my eyes to an even bigger picture. I encourage my professional peers to invest in yourself, your business and your profession through the 2012 Best Practice Awards – there is much to gain and give.”

Jim Fenwicke AFP(R), winner of the Financial Planner AFP(R) Best Practice Award 2011 also described how this has assisted in enquiries from prospective clients:

“Winning the FPA Best Practice Award has really given me great confidence that my planning processes are industry best. I have had quite a few enquiries from prospects who have in their research discovered that I was a Best Practice Award winner.”

Michael Smith AFP(R), winner of the Financial Planner AFP(R) Best Practice Award 2011 also described how the award has strengthened client relationships:

“It was great to be recognised by the FPA for the service we provide to our clients. I am certain that it has helped to attract new clients and also cemented relationships even further with existing clients. As a planner you always strive to do the best you possibly can for your clients, it is very rewarding to have this confirmed by a professional body like the FPA.”

Nominations are also now open for the 2012 FPA Honorary Awards for Distinguished Service and Fellows. These awards honour the work of FPA members who have gone above and beyond the call of duty through:

  • working with their local community and charitable organisations
  • mentoring young planners and those new to the profession
  • working with their local FPA Chapter and FPA committees
  • selfless contribution to the profession

The deadline for submissions is Friday, 5 October and winners will be announced as part of the FPA 20th Anniversary celebrations. For more information and to download an entry form, please visit