The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Calling all FPA members: Nominations for 2018 FPA Awards open

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) is calling for FPA members to make submissions for the 2018 FPA Awards, a program that recognises excellence in financial planning and the notable contributions made by members to local communities.

The Awards acknowledge the achievements of outstanding planners, paraplanners, students and practices, and celebrate the individuals and businesses who go above and beyond to deliver outstanding outcomes for clients.

Dante De Gori CFP®, FPA CEO, said the 2018 FPA Awards program is an important initiative that highlights the talent and passion within the financial planning profession.

“Financial planning professionals know that trust and respect is earnt through excellent client service – proactively going out of the way to answer questions before they are even asked and maintaining an open, transparent and communicative relationship. Hearing our members’ success stories makes me immensely proud, and this year we’ll be honouring them for the exceptional work they do across six different award categories.”

The six categories open for submissions are:

  • FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award
  • FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award
  • FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award
  • FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award
  • FPA University Student of the Year Award
  • Community Service Award supported by Future2.

Future2 is the philanthropic arm of the FPA. The Future2 Community Service Award recognises FPA members who have made an outstanding contribution to improving the circumstances of the most socially excluded or financially disadvantaged members of the community in a pro-bono, volunteering or community service capacity.

The next generation of financial planners are also acknowledged in the FPA University Student of the Year Award that recognises students who are excelling in the finance field and show a dedication to financial planning. Students who have demonstrated exceptional performance will be nominated by their respective accredited educational institution.

“With previous winners from Mackay, Brisbane, Melbourne and Perth unveiled at the 2017 FPA Professionals Congress, I strongly encourage all FPA members across Australia to enter this year. Let’s share how financial planners make a meaningful positive difference to the lives of clients and within our communities.”

All categories will be judged by a panel of experts. Depending on the category, award winners will receive consumer media opportunities, financial contribution to professional development and complimentary registration to the FPA Professionals Congress.

The award winners will be announced at the 2018 FPA Professionals Congress in Sydney from 21-23 November, along with the next winner of the bi-annual Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award.

Applications are now open and close on Friday 31 August. To find out more about how to enter online, visit