The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Calling all aspiring financial planners: FPA Awards now open

2015 Awards to recognise top performers

Submissions to the coveted 2015 Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) Awards are now open, with a new award introduced to recognise Australia’s top finance student.

The FPA ‘University Student of the Year Award’ will honour students who are achieving excellence in their studies early on and demonstrating strong potential in the areas of accounting, banking and finance.

Mark Rantall, CEO of the FPA, said that the new award builds on the work the FPA does with Universities through the Financial Planning Education Council (FPEC), which aims to raise the standard of financial planning education and promote financial planning as a distinct learning area and career choice.

“Education is key to ensuring a strong future for financial planning. The FPA ‘University Student of the Year Award’ celebrates the hard work and achievements of students and also acknowledges the technical expertise and commitment integral to our profession. Students who have demonstrated such achievement will be put forward by their accredited educational institution, and the FPA will personally invite these candidates to apply for the new award.

“By creating appropriate recognition for outstanding academic achievement, we are supporting burgeoning professionals who may end up with careers in financial planning,” said Mr Rantall.

Mr Rantall went on to say that the FPA Awards have become a recognised symbol of trust to Australian consumers looking for advice from a professional financial planner.

“We believe that hard work and dedication deserve recognition and the FPA Awards do just that. Award winners will be those planners who have delivered stellar results for their clients and have contributed to the profession through community involvement, mentoring and support to their local FPA member base.

“Now more than ever we need to be celebrating the best of the industry and the FPA Awards are a great way to recognise the positive impact that financial advice can have. We are delighted to also recognise those who nobly give back to their community, through the Future2 Foundation. I believe the act of giving back is the hallmark of a profession,” Mr Rantall said.

The practitioner categories this year are as follows:

  • FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award
  • FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award
  • Future2 Community Service Award.

State winners and runners-up will be chosen in each practitioner award category, with one state winner also taking away the national award. National winners of the practitioner categories will receive free entry to this year’s FPA Professionals Congress and $5,000 towards either professional development.

The deadline for financial planner submissions for the FPA Awards is Friday 11 September and winners will be announced during the 2015 FPA Professionals Congress in Brisbane, on 18-20 November.

The winner of the University Student of the Year Award will receive free entry into the CFP® certification program.

For more information and details on how to enter the awards, please visit