The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Call out to FPA members: 2017 FPA Awards entries open

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) is calling for FPA members to make submissions for the 2017 FPA Awards, a program that shines a light on the talent and passion within the financial planning profession.

Recognising outstanding planners, paraplanners, students and practices, the awards celebrate individuals and businesses who demonstrate a commitment to delivering excellent outcomes for clients, and those who have made a notable contribution to their local community.

Dante De Gori CFP®, FPA CEO, said the 2017 FPA Awards program is an important initiative that recognises those who go above and beyond to provide exceptional service and achieve great results.

“Once again this year, we have six categories, to recognise members in different capacities – as financial planners, as business owners, as paraplanners and as professionals who give back to those in need.”

The six categories open for submissions are:

  • FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award
  • FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award
  • FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award
  • FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award
  • Future2 Community Service Award
  • FPA University Student of the Year Award

Future2 is the philanthropic arm of the FPA. The Future2 Community Service Award recognises FPA members who have made an outstanding contribution to improving the circumstances of the most socially excluded or financially disadvantaged members of the community in a pro-bono, volunteering or community service capacity.

The next generation of financial planners are also acknowledged in the FPA University Student of the Year Award that recognises students who are excelling in the finance field and show a dedication to financial planning. Students who have demonstrated exceptional performance will be nominated by their respective accredited educational institution (not only restricted to FPEC accredited providers).

“Past winners have told us about the impact that winning an award has had on themselves personally, but also their careers. I strongly encourage FPA members to consider entering this year,” said Mr De Gori.

Depending on the category, award winners will receive consumer media opportunities, financial contribution to professional development and complimentary registration to the FPA Professionals Congress.

The award winners will be announced at the 2017 FPA Professionals Congress in Hobart, from 22-24 November, along with the next winner of the bi-annual Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award.

The closing date for entries is Friday 1 September. To find out more about how to enter online, head to