The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Awards finalists unveiled ahead of FPA Professionals Congress

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) has announced the shortlist for all six categories of the 2017 FPA Awards ahead of the presentation ceremony at FPA Professionals Congress in Hobart on 23 November.

Recognising outstanding planners, paraplanners, students and practices, the awards celebrate individuals and businesses who demonstrate a commitment to delivering excellent outcomes for clients, and those who have made a notable contribution to their local community.

FPA CEO Dante De Gori CFP® said there had been a record number of entries for this year’s awards and that finalists had all demonstrated the highest professional standards.

“Once again the judging panel has been very impressed by the volume and quality of award entries this year. The finalists represent the best of the best in our profession and I look forward to announcing the winners at Congress in November.”

Commenting on the Future2 Community Service Award, Mr De Gori said those on the shortlist deserved a special mention.

“Future2, the philanthropic arm of the FPA, has awarded $823,000 in grants since 2007. Our members continue to raise funds for grassroots programs that transform the lives of young people who through no fault of their own, struggle to make a ‘go’ in life.

“I’m particularly proud of our members who commit their time and energy to improving the circumstances of the most socially excluded or financially disadvantaged members of the

Depending on the category, award winners will receive access to consumer media opportunities, financial contribution to professional development and complimentary registration
to the FPA Professionals Congress.

The winners will be announced at the FPA Professionals Congress in Hobart on 23 November, along with the latest winner of the bi-annual Gwen Fletcher Memorial Award. For more information about the FPA Professionals Congress visit

The shortlist for each award is as follows:

FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award
Paul Benson CFP® – Guidance Financial Services
Michael Hayward CFP
® – Capital Partners Private Wealth Advisers
Robert Zammit CFP
® – RSM Financial Services Australia

FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award
Felicity Cooper AFP® – Cooper Wealth Management
Nicholas Lloyd AFP
® – ITL Financial Planning
Patricia Soares Garcia AFP® – WB Financial

FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award
Adriana Brink AFP® – Alman Partners
Laura Buckley AFP
® – Momentum Planning
Travis Schindler – Hewison Private Wealth

Future2 Community Service Award
Mary-Louise Gnoato AFP® – Commonwealth Financial Planning
Luke McCoy CFP
® – Elevate Financial Solutions
Reuben Zelwer CFP
® – Adapt Wealth Management

FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award
Capital Partners Private Wealth Advisers – Perth (WA)
Eureka Whittaker Macnaught – Sydney & Brisbane (NSW & QLD)
MBA Financial Strategists – Adelaide (SA)

FPA University Student of the Year Award
Azaria Bell
Jonathon Halls AFP
David Steyn