The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

Awards finalists announced ahead of FPA Professionals Congress

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) has revealed the shortlist for all six categories of the 2019 FPA Awards ahead of the presentation at the FPA Professionals Congress in Melbourne.

Now in its seventh year, the FPA Awards recognises the achievements of outstanding members who have delivered the highest professional and ethical standards outlined in the FPA Code of Professional Practice, as well as those who have gone above and beyond to support their local community through pro bono and volunteer work.

FPA CEO Dante De Gori CFP® said finalists had been chosen because they have shown exceptional commitment to professional standards, and made a positive difference to the lives of clients and members of their community.

“I am extremely proud of the work being done by all the finalists and look forward to announcing the winners at Congress in November,” said Mr De Gori.

“Members who contribute to the Future2 Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the FPA, deserve a special mention. Through pro bono work, making donations, getting involved in fundraising activities and by nominating organisations for the annual grant program, these volunteers do so much to support their local community.”

Award winners will be announced at the Future2 Celebration & 2019 FPA Awards presentation held at the iconic St Kilda Sea Baths on Thursday 28 November. Join us at the event to celebrate the winners and support the Future2 Foundation. Tickets cost $150.

For more information about the FPA Professionals Congress visit

The shortlist for each award is as follows:

FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award
Andrew Dunbar CFP® – Apt Wealth Partners (VIC)
Kearsten James CFP® – Cooper Wealth Management (QLD)

FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award
Crystal Bobir AFP® – Tupicoffs (QLD)
Leonie McKain AFP® – Bridges Financial Services (QLD)
Paul Turner AFP® – Wealthwise (WA)

FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award
Lachlan Haigh – Tupicoffs (QLD)
Andrew Mann CFP®  – Tupicoffs (QLD)
Julian Stephenson – Tupicoffs (QLD)

FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award
Capital Partners Private Wealth Advisers (WA)
EJM Financial Services (VIC)
Tupicoffs (QLD)
VISIS Private Wealth (QLD)

FPA University Student of the Year Award
Amanda Barrow-Scott – Griffith University (QLD)
Graeme Morris – Griffith University (QLD)
Porsha Papas – Deakin University (NSW)

FPA Community Service Award supported by the Future2 Foundation
Zacary Leeson CFP® – HPH Solutions (WA)
Kevin McDonald CFP® – Future Focus Financial Planning (NSW)
Michael Stone CFP® – UniSuper Management (SA)
Matthew Torney CFP® – Muirfield Financial Services (VIC)
Louise Wegner-Parker AFP® – Morgans Financial (QLD)