The Financial Planning Association of Australia The Financial Planning Association of Australia

2020 FPA Award nominations open with new category acknowledging innovation and automation

The Financial Planning Association of Australia (FPA) is calling for nominations to the 2020 FPA Awards, an annual program recognising excellence by the FPA members in financial planning and notable contributions to their local communities.

The FPA Awards acknowledge achievements of exceptional financial planners, paraplanners, university students and FPA Professional Practices from across Australia. The Awards also celebrate the individuals and businesses who go above and beyond to deliver outstanding results for clients.

This year a new award has been introduced to highlight the FPA’s continuing focus on innovation in the advice process, using technology and digital delivery of advice to consumers.

The FPA Advice Innovation Award will recognise members who have automated their advice process or used technology in new ways in how they engage with clients and/or deliver advice.

FPA CEO Dante De Gori CFP® said the challenges and disruptions experienced by practitioners and their clients as a result of the pandemic, combined with ongoing change in the financial planning profession, make this year’s FPA Awards all the more significant.

Mr De Gori said, said “2020 is unfolding as the most challenging year in decades. FPA members are playing a critical role in supporting their clients and the broader community with advice as many Australians finds themselves in a financial situation they have never experienced before.”

“The FPA Awards are an opportunity for us to shine the spotlight on the positive and vital work that FPA members do for their clients and communities.

“This year we’ll be recognising the achievements of talented professionals across seven different award categories, with the award winners announced during a live broadcast awards ceremony later this year,” he said.

Submissions are now open and closes on Monday 31 August. The seven categories are:

  • FPA CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER® Professional of the Year Award
  • FPA Professional Practice of the Year Award
  • FPA Financial Planner AFP® of the Year Award
  • FPA Paraplanner of the Year Award
  • FPA University Student of the Year Award
  • FPA Advice Innovation Award
  • Community Service Award supported by the Future2 Foundation.

FPA University Student of the Year Award

The FPA University Student of the Year Award recognises students excelling in the field of finance and showing a dedication to financial planning.

Students who have demonstrated exceptional performance need to be nominated by their respective accredited educational institution.

“I strongly encourage all FPA members across Australia to enter this year, the nomination process itself can be hugely rewarding as you take the time to recall and articulate the positive difference you or a peer have made,” Mr De Gori said.

All categories will be judged by a panel of experts. Depending on the category, award winners will receive consumer media opportunities and complimentary registration to the 2021 FPA Professionals Congress.

Submissions are now open and close on Monday 31 August. To find out more and enter online, visit